Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently took up jogging and i was think about getting another dog sometime in the summer. I have 2 dogs already which are a golden retriver and she is 11 and bit to old to keep up. then I have a mini doxie that is one who is fit and trim, but i don't think he would go for a 3 miles jog a day. He doesn't like to get hot, he is kinda goofy.

So anywho I was thinking about a Mini Bull terrier, and my bf also likes the idea of the breed too. I have wanted one for years and educated myself about the breed. I have gotten mixed answers on the jogging partner thing from people that I do know that own them...
So I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the idea of one as a running partner.

·
Registered
3,773 Posts
I'm not a huge fan of things "mini"......I have no personal experience with the breed but my concern is at dog that small would have a hard time keeping up for 3 miles...but I could be totally off......why not just a standard bull terrier?

·
Registered
361 Posts
I thought they could be on the stubborn side?

If you want a jogging partner what about a shelter lab or pit bull? I promise you can find a loving and active lab or pit bull at any shelter in the US that would make a great jogging partner.

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
Depending on how fast you jog, a Lab or a Pit might still have some juice left over after 3 miles. A Rhodesian Ridgeback would certainly have energy left after that. I jog 2-3 miles with my 9 and soon-to-be 11 y/o Beagles, no problem.

·
Registered
7,761 Posts