Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I already posted here under introductions, because I felt overwhelmed by the third dog in my life. My husband and I got him two and a half months ago, and he's still a puppy. We moved from Manhattan to Wisconsin this summer, and since we wanted a dog in NY, but couldn't afford it, nor had the space for it, we knew we'd do it as soon as we settle in in Wisconsin. We moved for my job (I'm a researcher and I'm supposed to finish my manuscript - book - in order to keep my career/job going), but my husband also found a job here and he's at work a lot. I work from my home office.

I had (or still have) trouble with housebreaking, biting, and other typical puppy stuff. We live in an apartment. We moved apartments because of the doggie, and now we have a terrace with the real grass patch. This was a life-saver, since it was driving me insane to go up and down the stairs or on the elevator every hour or two.

The doggie was in one daycare that didn't work out, but today he's spending his first day in another daycare that has a webcam service. So, today, I've been logging in to their website to see how he's doing. And whenever I log in, I see him running around, sniffing or playing with other doggies, wagging his tail. Then I think about his day at home with us. My husband walks him and plays with him between 7 and 8.45 am. I start my "shift" at around 10.30 am. I take him out to the terrace grass patch every hour, and play with him for at least 3-4 hours a day. This play can sometimes get exasperating, as he gets overexcited, starts growling and biting, and needs time-outs. Then, I try to take a longer walk with him in the evening. I say, "try," because I have to practically drag him if I want to leave the building courtyard. (He's not into walking around the neighborhood, I have no idea why, nothing bad ever happened.)