Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to the forum so let me introduce myself. I currently own 4 dogs, a 10 yr old goldie mix, two 10 month old mini schnauzers (same litter) and a 12 week old mini schnauzer. I am new to owning schnauzers but have been a dog owner my whole life (childhood into adulthood). I guess you can say schnauzers are addicting for me.

What I want to know is: If you do agility training with your dog, how did you get started? What advice can you give about basics, what commands must the dog know as a foundation before even starting to attempt obstacles. What is the first obstacle that is taught to a dog new to agility. Do you know any good reading material? And any other advice that I am not knowledgeable enough to ask about.

I want to start working with my 10 month old female mini schnauzer. She has been through basic puppy training course and knows (sit, down, come, stay, heel, move) We were going to an advanced training course (heel with no leash, away, back) but were forced to drop out due to her 1st heat cycle at 6 months. My vet wanted to wait to spay until at least 6 month because of teeth development. She is currently spayed. She is a fabulous jumper and I have seen her move like lightning and think that she would do very well with complex tasks. Also I think it would do well to focus her energy, right now her main goal in life is hunting down moles (1 kill) and trying to catch squirrels (0 kills) and with the squirrels its getting close. I've seen her practically run up the side of our big oak.

thnks

·
Registered
543 Posts
Hi,