Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have decided to get a puppy. An Argentine Dogo. This is my first time selecting a pure bred and I am not sure what to look for. I hear talk about top line, bone structure, bite, etc, but have no idea how to identify what is good or bad. I know many characteristics are breed specific, but I was hoping if I posted up some pics, you guys could help me picking out some features, and any thing you see good or bad on this puppy. He is 7 weeks in these pictures.

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Unless you're looking for a show prospect you should be more worried about personality, IMO (I'm assuming that the parents are titled and health tested, otherwise you should worry about health).

That being said, I let my breeder pick my puppy for me. I told her about my lifestyle and want I wanted in a dog and she picked the puppy that she thought would fit me best. Since she spent 9 straight weeks with the puppies she was a better judge at which puppy would be best for me than I could have ever been.

As for your original question, I"m not a judge of Argentine Dogos but there is nothing that really sticks out from these pictures.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Both parents are titled and health tested. I did tell the breeder my plans. Mostly hiking and maybe some pulling later on. This is who she came up with. I was just looking for opinions on how this dog looked and if anyone noticed anything out of the ordinary. I am glad you say he looked pretty normal. I just wasn't sure if there were physical things I should be looking out for that I just wouldn't notice, as this is my first time picking out a puppy. It is also my first time picking out a puppy from a breed I have just learned about in the last few months.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5