Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I should have known [slaps forehead] -- I got the wrong food. It's an Iams for puppies -- has omega 3's which totally sold me. [hangs head in shame]

So, I'm looking at the dizzying array of food choices on this forum, including raw -- does anyone supplement with Mazuri? https://www.mazuri.com/Home.asp?Products=2

Is there something I can pick up locally tomorrow to feed Ruby -- should I just get some raw meat? That kind of scares me -- it's not going to give her Mad Cow, is it?? Or parasites? Sorry if this is annoying, lol -- she's working hard to train me, I'm still learning the commands. :cool:

She's maybe a chi/terrier mix, 10 pounds -- I just got her today, so I have a vet appt next week to find out more about her "personally" (can I even say that??? shouldn't it be dogally? I hope she's not insulted, either way). They'll probably recommend their food.

I'm so confused!! Maybe I should have just given her my pizza. :eek:

·
Registered
1,879 Posts
Before you start feeding raw you'll need to a bit of research on it to make sure you're doing it right. Because it can be great when done right and pretty bad when done poorly.

As for locally available foods, I'm not sure what kind of pet stores you have around. It you have a Petco you may be able to get some Natural Balance or Solid Gold, both of which are decent brands. If you have any feed stores or independent pet stores, you may be able to get some of the premium brands like Orijen, Wellness, Innova, Evo, Timberwolf, etc. From there is will depend on your budget.

If you don't want to feed IAMS even for a few days, I can recommend bland chicken or ground beef (cooked) and rice. It's not exactly flavorful or full of variety, but my vet always recommends that when Max has an upset tummy. So I know at least it's safe and gentle on the tummy.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #3