Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
and I'm bringing my pup down with me. :( This is my first time getting a pup so young and I've read everywhere that the window of opportunity for puppy socialization is right before they're 12 weeks. We got her at 11 and didn't take the time to take her out everywhere. We just worked on forming a bond, getting to know her, potty training, and car riding places. I thought I had time then(and didn't know about the 12 week window). I've been taking her to the farmer's market to see people. Now, at 19 weeks she is still scared of all strangers. She'll take treats from their hands but that is it, and sometimes even that is done with a lot of barking. She did better a couple of days ago at the pet shop, a lady that has been very patient with us, gave Pippa a few treats and she didn't bark until someone walking into the store behind her startled her. Pippa also didn't back away after having got the treat. :) I've been taking her places, post office, library, gas station, parking lots, farmer's market, and in town where we walk by stores and watch people coming and going. Since school has started, I know children will be out in the parks more so I plan on taking her there too. She's gets excited each time I take her out and I've noticed she's getting a bit more confident, but with people it feels like we're getting no where. I just don't know what to do. I see other people with puppies and theirs will walk up to a complete stranger to be petted. A guy commented that my pup was probably the "untrustful" type and would remain. Another lady came up to me and said she would never get a puppy from a shelter because they all ended up unstable(not her words exactly, but I got the gist). I've had some people tell me that she'll probably grow up to be dangerous and that I should have been spanking her for barking at them(that I would NEVER DO). I don't want her to be just another shel