Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Since I am doing all this dog food switching ....

I was studying pancreatitis and hyperlipidemia which can be predisposed for Schnauzers. What I am getting from all the scientific mumbo-jumbo which becomes confusing after a bit ... is that hyperlipidemia is high fats in the blood or high lipid numbers? Am I correct and will a low fat and high protein diet be a wise choice for my Schnauzer mixes?

When Leeo was diagnosed with pancreatic neucrosis his lipid numbers were in outer space. His fat levels were horrid. Is this what causes pancreatitis or hyperlipidemia in the first place ... if it is not already predisposed in the first place due to the dogs genetic lines?

Just trying to make a wise choice and hope to prevent future health issues if at all possible ... or basically try and keep them on a proper road to good health.

Any advice is good ... as I am still studying this.

www.dvm.com/ ......................

CLINICAL SIGNS