Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,946 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this question is for anyone who competes in a sport with their dog.

My dog is a border collie mix, almost a year old. I've had her for five months and she came with no prior frisbee experience - just interest. As far as I can tell she has no health issues whatsoever, and the vet said it's fine to play frisbee.

We enrolled in a frisbee class, mostly because I wanted to learn how to encourage safe play. I have to say she's getting pretty darn good! I'd say she catches 80% of my tosses and usually gets some air (she's always been a bouncy dog). I have 5 years experience on an ultimate team, but I'm finding it's tougher to throw to a dog. The teacher of our class has given and continues to give good tips on how to make sure we're not doing permanent damage to our dogs by asking too much of them. We try to follow his advice because I can already tell she's going to be a great frisbee dog and I don't want to shorten her career.

There's a local frisbee competition coming up in about a month. Our teacher is encouraging us all to compete. I'm told the competition is very low key - everybody is extremely welcoming and friendly - and it's not really very high stakes - winners get gift certificates and such (not that we'd win anything!) The catch, though, is that it's a big audience - maybe 300-500 people.

The pro's: Get her on the scene. Great experience in front of a crowd. See what we need to work on. A low key local competition could be a good place to start.

The con's: Even though we take safety precautions, I'm still worried about her joints and bones since she's jumping and not even a year old. Plus, maybe it's not a good idea to enter at all if you can't really compete with the big boys yet? How important is it to make a big splash the first time?