Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay...so I got Dante yesterday from the LA County pound. He's such a loving and good dog. He was also neutered yesterday and today you can really tell that he's feeling it. He hasn't been eating much and hasn't been able to go #2. I've only heard him bark about 5 times combined and the first 2 barks sounded more like an adult sneeze than a bark, which I am so happy about. (Barking...not attractive) Anyway, last night was his first night at his new home. He has a dog bed which I put in my room next to my bed. I'm a recent college grad and am still pretty unsettled so my mattress is just on my floor. I had to work for about 15 minutes to get him to lay in his bed, and he still kept trying to get in the bed with me. Finally I had to crate him. I still put the crate RIGHT by my bed...not lying..he was literally like less than a foot away from me. He started whining then after I paid him no attention loudly barking. I grabbed his snout firmly and repeated no in his face for a while...finally after about 15 more minutes of whining he accepted it and went to sleep. This morning I had to go to work so I had to crate him. He apparently whined for 2 hours until my roommates woke up and let him out. He's been pretty chillaxed since. I don't know if it's the neuter or the new home or just him. But I'd like to get him trained ASAP to not whine in the crate. I don't plan on having him crated for lengthy periods...and I plan to get rid of the crate as soon as he gets used to us and I can be confident that he's not going to go totally insane on the house if I let him out.

·
Registered
4,725 Posts