Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a dog who needs to lose about 15-20 lbs.

I have her on 4health dog food and right now she's been getting 2 cups a day, weighing 72lbs. She SHOULD be about 55 from what I have read and can just based on her build. I think 2 cups was too much so I just recently dropped it down to 1.5 cups (3/4 morning and night) with very few treats..and almost ALL treats being baby carrots or frozen blueberries. She occasionally gets a 5 calorie mini milk bone.

Does 1.5 cups still sound like too much? She's not very active, sleeps most of the day..and she does not have any health issues.

I've never tried to get a dog to lose weight before...about how long should it take before we notice a change in weight/appearance?

ETA: She's 10.5 years old. Forgot to mention that before, just that she was "senior" but that could be a wide range!

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
I'm not sure if that's the right amount of food or not, but it's a good start. If she isn't losing enough in a couple months you could lower it further but I think it's good to lower it slowly anyway. If she is physically able you could also try taking her on more frequent walks (for an older dog going on longer walks might wear her out, especially since she is overweight). For reference, my 20 pound dog eats around 1 cup a day, sometimes less, of a food that's a bit more calorie dense (Taste of the Wild) but she is pretty active. A dog that sleeps all day would need significantly fewer calories than one that's always running about.

I think you're on the right track as far as feeding. Good luck, you're really going to improve her quality of life by getting that weight off of her. You might actually find that she becomes more active as she gets into better shape. :)

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3