Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to the forums here and have a question. I have a pack of 4 mini doxies who I LOVE with all my heart. I work full time as a music teacher in the Los Angeles area. My doxies spend a lot of time in a 4' tall wire round pen thats approximately 4'-5' across. This pen has plenty of fluffy cozy blankets (which they love to burrow in!) and also gives them plenty of room to move, cuddle, and sleep. This pen is anchored to a wall in my dining room area downstairs which also has a doggy door I installed in the wall so they can go outside into the large (nearly 1/3 acre, I think) backyard freely throughout the day. The round pen also has a door which I open from inside the house when I am home so they can roam downstairs or cuddle with me on the couch.

Here is my question/concern. The 4 of them are in their pen while I am gone at work during the day from 8am-4pm and during the night. They used to be given free roam of downstairs (with the dog door installed to go outside whenever) during the day and sleep in my room at night...but they only decide to be housetrained when I keep a CLOSE eye on them smile So,keepoing them in the round pen with outside access during the day and at bedtime keeps most of the potties outside and accidents in the house to a minimum.

My question is do you think they spend too much time in the pen? Are they getting enough of my time, even though its only a few hours in the afternoons? They are very happy dogs and the only minor issue I have is they like to bark outside. If it were only a single dog, I might feel worse about their crate time but since the four of them are always together, they seem fine. I ask because my mom has been giving me a hard time (in a nice way) that they are "locked up" too much and that I'm "being mean" to them.

Thoughts? Advice? Input? Anything is appreciated...constructive criticism included! smile

·
Registered