Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I'm trying to figure out how many cups of food are in a 5 pound bag, a 10 pound bag and a 15 pound bag of dog food. I'm not good at math and frankly I developed a headache trying to figure it out. By the way, my dog eats once a day, he's 24-25 pounds and is fed 1 cup of food a day. So I'm trying to figure out how long the food lasts from each weight of dog food. In the morning time I give him some doggie biscuits to tide him over until dinner.

·
Registered
2,986 Posts
I think it depends on the brand because the density is different in every food. Can you weigh a cup of your food to determine how much a cup weighs?

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
One cup is 8 ounces. One pound is 16 ounces. So a 5 pound bag would be 10 cups, a 10 lb bag would be 20 cups, etc. If you google "how many [ ] in [ ]", you'll find online converters that do the math for you, which is what I do because I'm not keeping track of how many tablespoons to a cup, cups to a quart and quarts to a gallon, lol.

ETA: this is all approximate. Always look at your dog's condition to see how he's doing weight-wise.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
One cup is 8 ounces. One pound is 16 ounces. So a 5 pound bag would be 10 cups, a 10 lb bag would be 20 cups, etc. If you google "how many [ ] in [ ]", you'll find online converters that do the math for you, which is what I do because I'm not keeping track of how many tablespoons to a cup, cups to a quart and quarts to a gallon, lol.

ETA: this is all approximate. Always look at your dog's condition to see how he's doing weight-wise.

Thanks Amaryllis

·
Registered
2,986 Posts

I think your conversion only applies to liquids. If I use your math than my dogs food would only last them 10 days:

26 pound bag = 52 cups

52 cups / 5 cups per day = 10.4 days.

It lasts them at least double that.

·
Registered