Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK this is really starting to worry me...

Our dog is crate trained. He does great. He doesn't whine anymore when we put him in -- in fact he runs right in -- and he sleeps 7-8 hours through the night in his crate.

Here's my problem: I'm a teacher, so right now I'm off work, and have been able to spend a lot of time with the dog. The longest he's been left alone in his crate so far is about 4.5 hours, though on most days it's usually around 2-3 hours. In a few more weeks, I'll have to go back to school, so he'll be in his crate a lot longer...more like 8 hours, at least at first. I don't have anyone who can come let him out during the day -- all of our neighbors work and we don't have any family close by. I know people crate their dogs all the time while they're at work, and everyone tells me he'll be fine, but this is really bothering me. Will he really be OK for that amount of time? He'll be almost 8 months old by this time.

Can anyone offer any tips/advice?

Thanks,
Stacey

·
Registered
301 Posts
mine were crated up to 9-10 hours when they were being crated. How old is your puppy? Rule of thumb for being able to hold themselves is 1 hour per 1 month of age!

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
Start lengthening the time he spends in his crate now. Most dogs will adjust just fine to new circumstances if they are eased into it. A few weeks is plenty of time to gradually get him used to spending 8 hours in there. I would devote this time to extended crate time training. :) You may have to find some things to do away from home, or keep him in the crate while you're at home, but it's very possible. And don't worry about it. He'll pick up on your worry. Be confident and trust your dog.

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
We crate Bridgette for 8 hours two days a week. Most other days one of us either has a half day or is off.