Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Banned
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys!:wave: This is my first time here. I have come to ask about my dog, Coco. She was bred to our own dog, Marley. So now we are 100% sure she is pregnant but do not know when she is gonna pop!

A description on how she is now..

She is verrry fat! I mean like the last time I properly looked and her and felt her she was a little fat and a little bit tender but not so much.That was 4 days ago. I just brought her in a few minutes ago. She has put on twice as much weight and is as hard as anything to touch. Her boobs are also very big and saggy. She is completely different from 4 days ago. So now this...We do not know exactly when she was bred. I know for sure it was around the start of July but the exact date I have no idea.

I read on different sites that they get fat around the last week or two.

About the dogs..

They are both purebred, registered Labradors. This is our first time breeding so not everything is easy to understand XD Both dogs are really good and have good lines so we are not breeding for the fun of it.

Ok and another thing..Is it safe to leave the male dog with the female as she whelps and as the pups are growing up or will he kill them? The vet said it will be fine but I am a little worried because he is such a big dopey dog and very clumsy..I am thinking he will squish them or something..will Coco even let him there them?

Ok thanks guys :biggrin1:

ETA : She is also peeing A LOT! I brought her for a walk the other day. She stopped literally ten times to pee.

·
Banned
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I also have another question...Is it safe to give a pregnant dog vaccines? I have read it is not but the vet said it is =/ I didn't think it would be but I obviously do not know. Also she had kennel cough last week. The vet gave her and injection and antibiotics...Will they harm the pups?

·
Registered
3,071 Posts