Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How Can I Stop My Puppy from "Acting Out" by Urinating and Defecating on My Bed?

I have a very small bachelor appartment and three-month-old alpha female chihuahua. She's very sweet and loveable, but for the past month now she's been doing her business in my bed. I have no bedroom and only a mattress on the floor, so restricting access when I'm away at work or school isn't really an option. Also, I don't have a crate, as I can't currently afford one. I have considered barricading her in the bathroom when I leave with her food and water, but there's no comfort in there and she's pad trained (using "trained" loosely) under the table in the main room. As well, I had a dog growing up we rescued from the SPCA and we think that he was locked in the bathroom by his previous owners as he was terrified of bathrooms and wouldn't enter one - and I don't really want to subject Harley to that.

I know that crate-training is probably the best way to go, but that's not really an option at the moment. She's recently stopped going on the rug, but has been peeing on my bed for a long time now (which I put down to a dominance thing - she's also now begun humping my teddy) but now when I'm out I find poo in my bed as well; tonight when I got home (to be fair, I'd been gone all day) there was one spot of pee and four different spots of poo in my bedding, and only once on the puppy pad.

I'm also reluctant to barricade her in the kitchen or bathroom because I'm technically not allowed dogs in my building and would rather not give the neighbours cause to complain if she cries all day. I've been using Nature's Miracle on my bedding at every instance, and I've been ignoring her steadfastly for a good long time while cleaning it up and after; but it doesn't seem to be doing anything overly helpful.