Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new here... I'm a professional dog trainer and I need some tips or help with a particular situation. I have a client with 2 sweet dogs, they are brothers (10 months age), they have a big and beautiful garden to play, the owners provide a lot of enrichment, play and activities but these dogs loves the garden spotlights. They rip out all of the spotlights (like 20), the owners understand that they are "puppy" exploring the environment, they need more control and everything but at this moment we need to provide some physical protection to the new spotlights, including because it's not safe to them. I can not do a big intervention, I need some simple and creative solution. Some tips or suggestion about what can I do to block the spotlight access?

This picture is from Google, only to illustrate the spotlights that they have on the garden

·
Registered
47 Posts
My first choice would be to give up the lights. If they won't do that -

Fence I the lights with something a little stiffer/stronger than chicken wire? In this area that's what people use to protect trees and shrubs from deer. Depending on the locations, an electric wire of the sort used for horse fencing might do it. I've used that for a dog that climbed my regular fence.

·
Registered
11,243 Posts
If they are biting or mouthing at the lights, I'd probably start with a dog-safe nasty tasting repellent like Bitter Apple Spray. A small cage of woven wire or chicken wire, shaped into a dome and buried a few inches into the ground, can be unpleasant to the paws. I would NOT use electric wire or a shock collar, too much chance of unintended negative association.

Are the dogs exercised and trained separate from each other? Do they eat or mouth other items in the yard?

·
Registered
281 Posts