Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I'm getting a 9-week old female Springerdoodle puppy. I will be able to be home with her all day for two weeks, then I start working (I'm a teacher). A few details about our situation:

- I live in an apartment

- puppy has been eating twice a day, early morning and evening times

- Our puppy will not be able to have unsupervised access to an outdoor potty area, so we have a product called the Pet Loo in an x-penned area for her when we're NOT home

- Her penned area will have a crate, so we will be crate training her as well

- When I work, I will be gone by 6:30 AM and home by 4:30 PM. That is 10 hours.

- I'm ready to do all I can for her, which means training, bonding, exercise, walking, etc. within my non-working hours.

I'm not really able to afford a dog walker every single day. I could afford a walker perhaps twice a week, with a family member coming in for a 3rd day, which begs the question: should I train her to be without a dog-walker rather than get her used to having someone come in every now and then?

If you work all day and raised a puppy, how did you manage the puppy's house-training and time?! Would a pet cam like the Petcube be something to invest in?

Some people I've spoken with have advised some solutions:

- exercise her thoroughly in the morning
- do some obedience training in the morning
- leave a classical station playing
- stuffed, frozen Kong before you leave
- chew toys
- train her to be comfortable alone and in her crate (not confined to the crate during work time but in her playpen)
- 2 way pet camera to talk to her and monitor her

I'm just wondering what your take on this would be.

Please do not comment that I shouldn't have a puppy in the 1st place. Not looking for judgment like that here, just solutions by people who have done it or how you, if you were in my situation, would go about it. Thanks in advance!

·