Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know you get what you pay for, but what if you can't pay the high price to get the quaranteed health benifits. What are the better choices on the lower end of the price scale? I have a Boxer and a Samoa/Husky mix big eaters. Thanks for your input. :)

·
Registered
1,571 Posts
Hi
I am not a food expert i work at my local shelter and i have to say i have seen a lot of old dogs come through and they have been on the cheeper food and did well you need to do what works best for you and what you can afford
hope this helps
jamie

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
How cheap are you looking at? If you have to keep it at the very lowest price range, I'd recommend Purina Dog Chow. It's better than the other choices in that price range, and all the dogs I know who eat it are doing reasonably well. I think Dog Chow runs about $20.00 for a 55 pound bag.

If you can go up a notch from that, I recommend Diamond Naturals or Kirkland (Costco brand) food. They're both about $25.00 for a 40 pound bag (cheaper than Purina ONE, and better, too).

Another notch up would be Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover's Soul and Canidae. Chicken Soup is about $30.00 for a 35 pound bag, and Canidae runs about $40.00 for a 40 pound bag (except the price has gone up recently, so I'm not positive about that).

Anything with semi-moist bits (Kibbles n Bits, Purina Moist n Meaty, etc.) is a BIG no-no, because the moist bits contain corn syrup. Dogs do not need sugar in their diets; it can cause all kinds of health problems, and possibly hyperactivity (sugar buzz!).

And you want to avoid store brands. They're just no good at all, and all the dogs I've know who are fed store brand food are really unhealthy.

You can feed your dog less of a better brand, so it usually comes out even (say, store brand vs. Chicken Soup---the dog will probably have to eat twice as much store brand to get the same amount of nutrition)

·