Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Re-reading this as a preview, I see that it's probably obnoxiously long. I won't make a habit of that!

Every time I look up the answers to questions or just want to get the thoughts of other dog owners, Google brings me to this forum. What finally made me join? We can blame a thread regarding people eating dog food and figuring out which one tastes best to us two-legged creatures. This is my kind of party. :rockon:

My little girl asked, as kids often do, for a pet. So we started with feeder guppies and went from there. After simpler pets and volunteer work with me at a shelter, I decided she was ready for a dog. The rules were: small, low shedding, a couple of years old, and fur I could groom. I'm studying grooming to convert my day spa to a dog spa and wanted a "practice dummy" at home. She had her heart set on a black male toy poodle.

We started checking shelters, rescues, and Craigslist (I know: "Ew, Craigslist!"). We kept finding pit bulls, chihuahuas, and elderly dogs. One night, I found a breed I didn't recognize on Craigslist and started reading about these cute little balls of fluff I'd never heard of, let alone see in person: Powderpuff Chinese Cresteds. I knew I'd never be able to afford one, so I was glad my kid wanted a poodle.

A few days later, we went to a pet adoption event to see if there were any black poodles. Seated on the lap of a young lady was a golden ball of fluff... yes, a Chinese Crested. A moment later, I spotted a whirlwind of black, white, grey, and silver. Two Chinese Crested Powderpuffs? Neat!