Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hi, :wave: I just adopted my very first dog last Saturday! I've never had a pet before and am very excited for her to come home this weekend. She's a Maltichon (Maltese and Bichon Frise Mix) She's 10 weeks old and less than 2 lbs and will be 10 lbs max.
Since I am new to all this, I will have lots of questions and this board will be a great resource!

·
Registered
928 Posts
She's less than 2lbs at 10 weeks and you think she'll be 10lbs at adult?
Typically small breeds (both the maltese and the bichon frise) gain weight quicker than larger breeds (because they stop gaining weight quicker).
According to this site if both the Maltese and the Bichon Frise weighed less than 2 pounds (I put 1.9lbs) at 10 weeks they would weight 4.5lbs at their adult size.
This site says that the "Maltichon" will weight between 8-12lbs at adult size.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi! And congratulations to taking the steps to puppyhood! Get ready for the next few weeks to be full of sleepless nights and many learning curves! LOL!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The place I adopted from said 7-10 but that was in general with her and her 2 brothers (she is a lot smaller than them) Thanks! I want a little dog fully grown so that fine. I got a small crate but prob should've gotten the XS! I have the divider in it. Question- once she is crate trained (meaning she won't go to the bathroom in it) Is it okay to let her sleep in the whole thing? Or should I always keep it smaller since she's so little? I am going to start with puppy pads by the front door and eventually get her to go outside (i live in an apartment so i have to go out with her)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6