Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 190 Posts

·
Banned
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, this will be a long post! Apologies - I want to be as clear as possible, and sometimes that takes a little longer!

If you have read many of my other posts, you will know that I have a bit of an...aversion (for lack of a better word) to "treat training". However, it seems that this forum is incredibly pro-treat. Although I have lots of experience with dogs, and feel pretty darned confident in how I work with dogs, I know that no-one knows everything, and I am always hoping to understand different perspectives. So I am not necessarily looking for advice here, I am trying to gain a better understanding of something, and possibly have an interesting discussion. I am NOT a first timer, nor am I attempting to start any kind of drama, so please lets keep it polite? Thank you!

On the recommendation of a couple forum members, I had a look at kikopup on youtube. While I agree with most of her principles (not every single one, but I don't want this to turn into a kikopup discussion!), what I saw brought to mind the same issues that I see with pretty much all treat training. I'm going to outline them, and I would like to hear your thoughts - is there something that I am missing, or misunderstanding?