Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I posted this in the rescue forum and had no luck there (no replies) so I'm posting it here in the hopes someone can help me out...

I'm new to these forums (just joined) and this is my first time owning a dog where it is my sole responsibility. She is a five-year-old rescue who is the sweetest pooch ever. Her name is Violet and is so very well behaved! The only problem is it's hard to pinpoint the breeds in her. She is definitely mixed, and she looks like a chihuahua in the face but she is much too large for a chihuahua. She is 13 pounds and measures about two feet from the tip of her nose to the tip of her tail. She is long hair, and has a fluffy coat that is slightly wavy but doesn't stick out too much. Here's two photos of her:

So whaddya think?

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
I was gona say looks like a chihuahua to me but 13 lbs is huge. Pictures that show her at other angles, especially from the side, would help. It's hard to do much with just face pictures.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Cute!!

To me she looks primarily chihuahua, but yeah, 13 pounds is pretty large. Then again, my parents have a pure bred yorkie that is too big for her breed.

My parents chihuahua/rat terrier is around 20 pounds, but I don't see any terrier in your dog.

·
Registered
943 Posts
I second the chihuahua/pom mix I know one that is ~ 10 lbs so not far off.

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
definitely at least some chihuahua there. 13lbs . . . don't puppy mills and such breed them big to make breeding easier overall? so a 13lb chi isn't out of the realm of possibility.

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
Looks very Chihuahua to me too, and a Pom cross makes the most sense as it is so common.