Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This will be my family's first puppy. So we don't want any dogs that are hard to train.

In terms of shedding, I would like ~2 grooming sessions a week to 'control' the problem. This is a pretty important factor for us. I really don't like the really low shedding dogs, like the Standard Poodle or Portuguese Water Dogs, but want something the next step up in terms of shedding.

We want a medium sized dog. We don't want a pick-me-up dog, but something like a German Shepherd is a little big.

For my schedule, I wasn't going to go into detail, but I think this will help with the decision making process. I'm currently a student, on a four month break. I go to school in a different city than where my family lives. My family wants to get a dog. So for the next 4 months, I have a TON of time to train my puppy. But after I leave for school, the dog will be left at home between 9 and 3 until my mom and 6 year old sister come home.

My family is active enough for consistent daily walks. No high energy exercise like jogging but catch and that sort of thing is okay. This would be an inside dog, but would be let out into the large yard we have. We live in Ontario, so relatively hot summers and cold winters. We also have a swimming pool that could be made of use.

Some breeds that I have considered are foxhounds, boxers, retired greyhounds, and a local bulldog-beagle mix. The other concern I have is whether I can train an 8-12 week old puppy in 4 months to become a relatively obedient dog. My parents will continue with training and mental stimulation, but the primary task is on my hands. I'm guessing an older dog might be better, but we would much prefer to start with a puppy.

Thanks for reading!

·
Registered
13,066 Posts