Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm looking for a friendly and nice dog that is highly trainable. Please use your best judgements.

Requirements (In descending order from highest priority to lowest)

- Quit - I had to get rid of my Maltese b/c my neighbors complained.
- healthy
- Friendly - Can interact and make friends easily.
- Not too big - I live in an apartment. Huge dogs are inconvenient for me.
- Trainable - Don't want it to pee everywhere.
- Cute
Thanks. I'm very new to dogs.

·
Registered
9,391 Posts
If you want a smaller dog, look into a Bichon Frise.

But a great starter dog is a 2- 5 year old Labrador Retriever adopted from a rescue.
1. You can ask the rescue for a partially trained, house trained adult.
2. If you walk him 30 min a day, once or twice a day, he'll adapt and sleep the rest of the day.
3. If you make a mistake... he will forgive you and forget it. Most dogs will, but Labs are tops for forgiveness.
4. Labs are the ultimate, friendly dog.
5. You can also get a Lab mix. My Lab-GSD is 60 lbs, sleeping on the corner of my bed, as I type this.

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
If you "had to" get rid of a dog for any reason, what's changed now? If nothing has changed, I would suggest not getting another dog. They aren't disposable. Dogs make noise. They make messes. They get sick. If any of those things will make you get rid of your dog, it's best not to get one in the first place.

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
You're not new to dogs. You had one and got rid of it. There are no breeds that are guaranteed to be quiet and perfectly trainable. You have to be willing to put in the effort. I'm not sure how I feel about you getting another dog after rehoming the first, but don't get a puppy. Puppies are loud, pee everywhere and chew everything. Get an adult mixed breed or purebred, doesn't matter, already proven to be quiet and mellow.

·
Registered
5,406 Posts