Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had a Shih-Tzu Poodle (Loki) for almost 2 years. My wife spoils the crap out of him. We just got Anubis (Coonhound mix) 2 days ago and he's the same age as Loki. Anubis was a stray and stayed at the shelter for 4 months before we adopted him. I have no idea what his past experience is, but he's partially trained. He knew "sit" and "down" when we got him and the employees at the animal shelter said they didn't teach him anything, so I assume he was part of some other family before he was a stray.

However, he doesn't know how to interact with Loki, and Loki is irrationally afraid of him. Anubis tries to play with him, but he doesn't do it tactfully, and Loki responds by "attacking" Anubis.

The video below is how they interact any time Anubis pays any attention to Loki. They can be sitting next to each other and be perfectly fine, as long as Anubis ignores Loki, but the instant Anubis tries to smell Loki or anything, Loki retaliates.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MkxTCN9-US0&context=C32caddcADOEgsToPDskIovv3qKM_QfLloBsvRQwvf

I really don't know what to do to fix this, or if I should even do anything. I don't think either dog is in danger of the other, but it's still rather frustrating.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
13,074 Posts
Your little dog looks pretty stressed out by the big one. I have two small dogs under 20 pounds and two larger dogs over 60 pounds. I keep my small dogs away from the big ones if they are stressed. An accident can happen faster than you can take control of the situation. The big pup just wants to play. The little one, ... well ... it probably looks like a mac truck coming at him! :) I would consider taking them for a walk together to make them friends and maybe not such a threat to the little one. Just my suggestion.