Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,443 Posts
I have no personal experience with walnuts but the conventional wisdom is that black walnuts are toxic to dogs and horses. I addition, walnuts sitting on the ground can develop a mold that is toxic to dogs. I don't know a black walnut from an English walnut, so I didn't look at the attachments.

Sorry, I have no suggestions about how to keep them away from a dog.

·
Registered
11,237 Posts
Its possible the new foster won't show any interest in them anyways. There are walnuts that fall all over around here, although fortunately none really into my fenced yard, and neither of my dogs care about them at all. If you're supervising, you can keep her leashed until you have an idea of her interest in them and have some treats handy in your pocket to trade for if she does grab one.

If she's a determined stuff-off-the-ground eater, a basket muzzle is a safe way to keep a dog from quickly grabbing and eating stuff like that. Annoying to put on and off for quick potty trips so those might be better on a leash, but comfortable enough for a dog to wear while wandering the yard and sniffing and lounging etc. You can give treats through the wire so you can do training while its on. Only for supervised use.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Some years ago, my friend had a neighbor that had a walnut tree. She noticed bith digs having seizures one day. Long story short, we rushed them to the ER with temps over 105. Both survived with a vet bill if over $1,000.
Another friend had a litter of pups outside and all were having seizures. Long story short, green walnuts had fallen in their drinking water.
If you are going to have this dog, I strongly suggest you at least try to fence or block off the area where the walnuts drop or see if your neighbor will let you cut the branches.

·
Registered
935 Posts