Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am looking for a recipe to make for my dogs. I have access to any organic ingredient I would ever need. They are both healthy doggies but we are moving to a new city to open up a new restaurant and no one sells Blue buffalo over there. We were thinking of raising them on a home made diet in the first place and with this move we think now would be a good time to slowly merge them to home cooked meals since we would have to change them on something else anyway.

I need to know what ratios of meat to veggies to fish oils and cod liver oils and vitamins. I need to know all of that. I need numbers here.

Here are a few details on the situation.

- They are 15 months and 12 months old.
- Labrador(male) and Labrador/beagle(Labbe - female).
- Healthy dogs
- I am an experienced chef.
- I will do anything for my dogs.

ps: If i get the same ingredients as blue buffalo has on their labels and made the exact mix as it shows on the bag, would that be the equivalent to a home made version of that food or are there any other hidden facts about dog food companies I should avoid.

I hope to hear what you all have to say.

cheers!!

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
Most ingredients on a dog food label are put in as cost-effective fillers. Look up "prey-model raw"--no veggies or other fillers needed :). Although of course if your dogs like veggies they aren't harmful.

·
Registered
1,593 Posts
ps: If i get the same ingredients as blue buffalo has on their labels and made the exact mix as it shows on the bag, would that be the equivalent to a home made version of that food
oh no, it doesnt work that way.

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
Most ingredients on a dog food label are put in as cost-effective fillers. Look up "prey-model raw"--no veggies or other fillers needed :). Although of course if your dogs like veggies they aren't harmful.