Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Perrin went into heat earlier than I expected (she is 6 months, so I guess that isn't actually early). I decided to let her have two heats or reach 1.5 years old (whichever came first) before spaying her, and the vet agreed. I am super responsible (okay, maybe it is more appropriate to say controlling or bossy), so I knew I wouldn't let anything happen to her, but I still feel so lost!

I had been checking her every other day since four months and it just started on Saturday. The issue is that she is acting so scared and anxious so I don't know how to comfort her and I don't want to derail training?

Do I just let her do whatever she wants? For example, she is ringing her potty bell every 15 minutes!!!! I took her out seven times in 1.5 hours yesterday evening. Because of that, I want her in her crate for a bit, but she cries so much. I don't want to traumatize or stress her, so do I forget the crate while she is in heat? Do I take away the potty bell? Do I let her ring the bell but not take her out? I don't want her to go extinct on the behavior of the bell, so I don't think it is a good idea to let her ring it and not take her out. I am SO CONFUSED!

·
Registered
12,194 Posts
Personally, I would take away the bells and take her out on a schedule that she can handle. I'm not a fan of bells just because I don't want to be rushing my dog outside every 5 minutes if they suddenly decide ringing the bell is the best thing in the world. Haha. You can always put them back later.

Work on crate games and positive association. If she has to be in it, provide chew toys or a filled kong to keep her busy and quiet.

·
Registered
619 Posts