Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a female Pembroke Welsh Corgi 2 weeks ago that is 11 weeks old. At times she is very sweet and cute, but other times very fiesty. I do need some advice, if possible, in a few areas. Any recommendations or tips would be extremely helpful as this is my first time owning a dog!

I have mostly been taking her outside to potty during the day every 2-3 hours and am usually successful. I have been crating her to get her to hold her bladder a bit longer. However, at times, going outside has turned into a scavenging event for her. She eats any branch in sight, and sometimes other objects such as plastic, paper, etc and fights me when I try to take it out of her mouth. I am worried because sometimes she manages to find things like little pieces of glass. She has also growled at me when I attempt to take things like branches out of her mouth. How do I prevent her from doing this scavenging and get her to go potty instead?

When we are inside, I feel as if she has reverted in her training. The breeder originally trained her on newspaper and when I brought her home, she wouldn't go on a potty pad. When I tried newspaper, she was successful a few times, but then stopped going on it. Lately she has been refusing to go on the pad probably 90% of the time, and even when I spray the odor stuff on it, she licks it instead. Unfortunately I feel she tries to pee inside when I'm not looking for 5 minutes and it is usually not in the same spot. There is one particular area where she has gone multiple times and no matter how much Nature's Miracle I spray, she still goes. If I put the potty pad there, she shreds it instead.