Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear members!
My name is Elke and this is my first time posting. DH and I have 4 dogs, 2- 13 year old Lab mixes ( littermates), an 8 year old Beagle and a 2 year old Airdale mix. We live in the woods of WV and they have plenty of room to run and play. It's beautiful here.-Due to illness we will be moving overseas to my hometown in Germany ( insurance !!) and we will be taken the younger 2 dogs with us.-We will be staying with my girlfriend of 40 years until we find a place to live. -She is a cat lover and has devoted much of her life to cats. She has about 20 at home ! now-neither my friend or I know how to deal with the animals when we get there.! Does anybody here have lots of cats and dogs? How do they get along.? We have only one cat and she rules the dogs :) I know Beulah the beagle will be trying to eat all the catfood she sees and Cinco, the youngest, certainly will chase cats that "zoom" by, since it is in the nature of dogs to chase fast moving critters ! Does anyone know if there is a way to train him not to do that? I doubt he will hurt them, he problably will only be curious.
Any advice I can get before I'll get there will certainly help us handle the situation.
Thank
Elke

·
Registered
209 Posts
I'd say that if the dogs are ok with cats it shouldn't be too much of a problem. since cats usually run and hide when they see a new animal they shouldn't be a threat to your dogs. but SOMETIMES there is a cat who is very territorial and VERY bold and will chase a dog ten times it's size through the house and that's were you may have accidents.

I live with four dogs and three cats and the cats and dogs get along fine

·
Registered
823 Posts
I am just curious, what do you have to do for quarantine? And what are you doing with the old dogs?