Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello forum! First time posting on here and I'm hoping to get some good responses! In a nut shell, I'm trying to decide what dog breed would be best the fit for myself. I've been contemplating this for about 3 years now and I am now in a good position to make this life change happen!
What I'm looking for now is a companion dog. A dog who I would love to take for long walks at the local park, take to family gatherings, friends' houses, short runs, the occasional hike, to the beach, short road trips, etc. It would be nice that whereever I go the dog would come too. So friendly and active would be huge deciding factors. Now, I do work 40 hours per week and I'd consider myself a social person, meaning there will be days where I go out with friends or family during the week to places I may not be able to take the dog for an additional 2-5 hours. A somewhat independent dog that would be ok being alone for this time would be good too. Now I live fairly close to my parents and other dog friendly friends, so if there was ever a weekend getaway or I knew I would be out of the house for an entire day or two, it would be easy to drop the dog with them for that time. I do live in an apartment, but there is a park within walking distance.
So I've already done some research into what breeds would be best. Originally I was looking into the Shiba Inus. They've become extremely popular in recent years and they originally seemed like a good fit. Adaptable to apartment life, active, and independent. Now I have heard some horror stories about their tendency to suffer from epilepsy, be unfriendly to strangers and owners, some breeders charge insane prices, and their wanderlust potential. Is this in fact most people's experience?