Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new here and a proud new owner of an almost 3 month old Shih Tzu puppy! Looking for some advice on how to help him with separation anxiety. Can anyone help? We have tried the crate..which he will play in, sleep in and just lounge in with no issues. But as soon as we head out the door he goes into full on panic mode. I would prefer not to medicate so I am hoping that someone can give me some advice. Thank you so much!

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Hello and welcome! There is a great deal of info in the training forum too! :) ... along with good advice from many on the forum. I am new to crating, not new to dogs ... cannot be of a great deal of help with crate training to you though.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I had dogs growing up and never experienced one that had what I believe to be SA..makes me worry for the little guy because thats an awful lot of stress to be going through at least two times a day. I was just wondering if its because hes so young or if its a definate cause for worry.

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
I had dogs growing up and never experienced one that had what I believe to be SA..makes me worry for the little guy because thats an awful lot of stress to be going through at least two times a day. I was just wondering if its because hes so young or if its a definate cause for worry.
My largest dog Abbylynn has SA ... to the point that she broke out of her crate twice injuring a leg and had her entire teeth and jaw stuck in the metal bars twice. I had to supply her with a safe room. She ate the door frame. I now have to just leave her loose in the house when I leave. She is fine and has no more issues. She has claustrophobia I think? :/