Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Curiously I ask, does anybody raise food or water pans and if so, why and if there was a problem did it help. I have never used that system before but may try it as "the Pierce" does some regurgitating of water when done drinking. Again just something new from this dog he's more high maintenance than my wife. Just kidding on wife thing, she's still higher on maintenance list.

·
Banned
241 Posts
Curiously I ask, does anybody raise food or water pans and if so, why and if there was a problem did it help. I have never used that system before but may try it as "the Pierce" does some regurgitating of water when done drinking. Again just something new from this dog he's more high maintenance than my wife. Just kidding on wife thing, she's still higher on maintenance list.
The only time that my girls get something from a raised bowl is when they get water from a drinking fountain. I can't see any benefit to it personally.

I wonder if your dog is just drinking too fast?

The only raised bowl setups that I have ever seen that I liked were the sturdy ones that appeared to be 'tip over' proof. It is bad enough when a dog steps on the edge of one bowl and sends the contents flying across the floor but it would be a lot worse if they stepped on the side of a flimsy feeder and caused a few bowls to spill! LOL! :)

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
Love ours!
Not only is it cute (and i can say that because i'm a girl :D) but it stops Abe from regurgitating water and when he eats from the bowl he stays over the bowl instead of walking off a few steps to chew.
The biggest benefit to me is the cleaning. Before we had just one of those plastic bowl mat things and water would drip under it. I was drying underneath 2 times a day to stop our flooring getting moldy or ruined.