Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the subject implies, I haven't owned a puppy in a very long time. I got my first dog when I was 8, and she was 4 months old. Since then I've only had one other dog, and he was 6 years old when I got him.

I'm a Dog Trainer, so I don't need any advice about training or behavior or anything like that... But I would love your opinions on a diet for her.

She's a border collie/basenji mix, 4 months old. I was thinking of mixing Blue Buffalo puppy with Wellness CORE as her staple diet, and a few times a week mixing in some Wellness canned food. (I don't remember if it's a specific brand of Wellness wet food, but it only has one or two ingredients, it's extremely natural) I also wanted to supplement her diet with raw meaty bones, possibly some pumpkin every now and again, and other raw treats such as green beans.

Is that too much protein for a 4 month old puppy? Is there anything else that you all would suggest? I would love any and all input.

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
I think that sounds like a very nice diet for her! The kibble and canned brands you mentioned are good and raw bones are healthy and will keep her teeth healthy too. :)

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yay! I'm specifically worried about her teeth, my first dog had terrible teeth and had to have dental surgery several times in her life. (I was just a kid when we had her, and my mom fed her some really terrible foods, and never brushed her teeth.)

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
Yay! I'm specifically worried about her teeth, my first dog had terrible teeth and had to have dental surgery several times in her life. (I was just a kid when we had her, and my mom fed her some really terrible foods, and never brushed her teeth.)