Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

My name is Harvie and I live in south Louisiana, 4 weeks ago I lost my 4 yr old chocolate lab to lymphoma cancer. And no one can tell me why this happened and or did I do something to cause this.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi Harvie... I'm so sorry to hear about it. I'm no expert in dogs, but I know lymphomas can happen naturally in older dogs, and is usually harmless.

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
I am so very sorry for your loss.

It is difficult when they are taken so young.

I don't see how you could have caused cancer. It is just something that happens. I lost my 5 year old to pancreatic neucrosis and probable stomach cancer unexpectedly. It is easy to think that maybe we caused these things .... I believe it is just sometimes how we respond to all the "if's, what's and why's" because we want closure ... and it is all so hard to comprehend.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for your comment, I think the main thing that is bugging me is that he was so young and when we first went to the doctor she gave me 3 options and I am not a rich person and could not afford chemo and I took the option of putting him on steriods for the first month and he seemed to be getting better and in the second month he started getting weaker. When I took him back to the doctor and she said that she had done everything she could and he was suffering I knew it was time. He took his last breath in my arms, and it has since that day been so stressful on me. I am 54 yrs old and never had to go through this before. I miss him so much and hope is he at rest. I know we will meet again soon across the rainbow bridge, but I do know how much more crying I can handle.

Harvie

·
Registered
13,075 Posts