Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two dogs now, and I'm taking the pup in for booster shots this week. I figured I would take Clayton in alone for this (no need to tramatize Cupid with an unneeded vet visit).

However, heartworm season is coming up, and I'm wondering if I should take the boys in together to be tested or if I should make separate appointments and do it separately. Together seems easier in some respects, but Cupid is a bit fearful at the vet (no doubt due to his surgery last year), so it might be easier not to deal with a small puppy plus a nervous dog. Any suggestions?

Also, I'm trying to decide when to get Clayton microchipped. Can I do it with his boosters (he's 11 weeks old, FYI) or should I do it another time? Would it be painful to do them both during the same visit? I'm new to the whole puppy (vs. adult dog) and microchipping thing.

Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
If it isn't a long drive to the vet, I'd do it separately, just to prevent the puppy from learning to be nervous from the other dog. They can feed off of each other's feelings. If the older dog was calm at the vet's I'd say take both.

Microchipping can be done at any age. It's not traumatic. It's in a different location from the other vaccinations.

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
I'd take them separately for now, but I'd work on getting Cupid comfortable at the vet's office: