Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been grooming Sadie my 10 year old Bichon mix for the past 8 years. She was a year and a half when I first got her. This was the first time I groomed her. She has always sat down and let herself be groomed. (Shaved, nails clipped, ears cleaned).

I have questions on how to make my 11.5 week old puppy comfortable with the clippers. I've gotten her use to the blow dryer and I think it was because after her bath she was cold and I just sat on the floor with the blow dryer on low and was just blowing it at her, and she slowly came around and just sat on my lap and let me blow dry her.

I've got a nail grinder for Sadie's nails and I would love to get Kina use to it. I'm showing it to her, letting her sniff it, but as soon as I turn it on, she bolts! I'm trying to giver her treats, but nothing, she's scared of it. Same with the clippers. I try to turn them on and just get her use to the vibration of them. Nothing she's too scared.

Does anyone have any other suggestions, or just keep at it and she'll come around.

As for clipping her nails, as much as I'd love to use the grinder to file them down she's just to scared of the grinder. I've been able to clip 7 nails while she's been distracted chewing on a chew toy, does anyone have any other suggestions on how to clip her nails until she's use to the sound of the grinder?

·
Registered
149 Posts
I say turn them on and let her to come to you.. Or walk to her slowly with them on... also try holding her and putting the clippers behind her and turning them on...

First, I'd let her sniff them for a few days and touch them to her without using them at all... Just let her get used to seeing and feeling them.. Then try a slow introduction to the clippers.. It may take a week or more, but she'll come around.

·
Registered
2,838 Posts