Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How much grooming do you Lab owners do? As I always say, I'm a total grooming newbie... I did read this page: http://www.woodhavenlabs.com/grooming.html and it says to use a rake, a slicker, a wide-toothed comb and a narrow-toothed comb. And here I was thinking we'd just need to Zoom Groom her once a week...

Questions: how often do you groom? Do you perform the entire routine above, every time? Do you do it year-round? Do you ever bring your Lab to a professional groomer?

·
Super Moderator
11,796 Posts
I used a short-tooth undercoat rake on Cubby nearly every day. He never really ran out of fur and he enjoyed it so much that it became a bonding time. In fact, he enjoyed it so much that I had to stop brushing him in public. People assumed I must be doing something obscene.

Otherwise, just baths as needed. Typically, immediately after a bath, he would find something disgusting to roll in (e.g. skunk poop or rotten carp.) Nail-trimming and ear-cleaning (important for a floppy-eared dog that spent a lot of time in the water) completed the regular regimen.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
I use a shedding blade on Blackie (he never stops shedding!) and I will use a slicker brush on his "longer" fur and to get out the big clumps of molting hair. I used and undercoat rake on him once, but in my experience I get more out with the slicker and shedding blade.

Other than that, a bath once a month, nail trimming every 2-4 weeks, and ear cleaning weekly (his ears are disgusting).

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Thanks blackrose. How often do you brush him?
Not as often as I should. He doesn't mat up like Chloe does, so I get lax. I could probably brush him every day and still not control his shedding. I normally give him a good brush out once a month when he gets his bath, but it definitally wouldn't hurt him to get that same brush out once a week.