Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am currently a student and am unable to get a dog just yet, but would like to thoroughly research breeds that would be suited to my life style and what I need from a dog.
When I get one, I'll be a teacher abroad in Asia, likely Japan. Yes, I've done my research, I've been planning on teaching abroad for quite a while. When I am able to get a dog, I will have my own place and will not be living in teachers quarters. I plan to be relatively settled before taking on such a responsibility.
I'm a photographer and will be travelling a lot because of it, and I'd like the dog to come with me. I don't mean travelling abroad constantly, I'd probably only leave the country 2-3 times a year and most of that would be to visit family, but overnight trips may be common.

The list of breeds I have so far (to research) are:
¬Standard Poodle
¬Shiba Inu
¬Australian Shepherd
¬Doberman Pinscher
¬Samoyed
¬Leonberger
¬Boston Terrier
¬Rough/Smooth Collie

For diet and exercise, I'll be taking him on (1-3 hour) walks twice a day, morning and night, and to any off leash parks available. He'll also likely be on a raw diet, it depends how that'll work where I live.

Typical characteristics I need/would like to have:
¬easy to train and good for off leash
¬affectionate/patient/tolerant
¬good with other animals
¬adaptable/enjoys being outside
¬friendly/kind/calm

I'm really not a fan of (most) small dogs, and I prefer giants. I know having a giant in unrealistic and very unlikely to happen while living in Asia, depending on housing and money. A large dog would be nice, but still unrealistic and unlikely depending on just how large. Small would most likely be the best way to go, though medium would probably be ideal.
I do know how expensive it is to feed and house large/giant dogs. I know how expensive dogs are in general, and how expensive travelling with one will be.