Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I have no experience in dog sports at all. I did a basic obedience class with Luke when he was a year old. Zoey has just completed the level 2 "obedience" class and passed the Canine Good Citizen test. I love going to class with her and she seems to really enjoy it as well. I would say she has a high medium energy level (maybe 6-7 on a scale of 10) and she is definitely a thinking dog. I really want to continue doing things with her and I think she would really benefit from some type of sport. I have no idea of what would be good for her or how to get started.

Background on Zoey: She is 11 months old, best guess Plott Hound/Lab mix? Some think Lab/Boxer? I feel like she is more retreiver like in her personality. She is 40 lbs, absolutely loves to retreive out of the water, has a pretty high chase drive but also has a pretty good recall. Nickname "Bean" because she's is a freakin jumping bean, does everything at one speed: FAST!

The trainer that we just finished the last class with isn't offering any "sport type" classes coming up for at least the next 2-3 months. There is another "training group" (4 trainers that work out of a doggy day care) local that I have heard great things about and they have a ton of different class starting in Sept. They are offering an agility class, treibball and nosework. I just don't know what to try with her. Also, I have read that there is a huge difference between agility for fun and agility for competition. At this point I have no idea if we would want to compete in something, but I don't want to start something, decide that we like it and then find out we've started all wrong. I also have no idea how well she or I would do/like it. I just don't know what direction to go next with her and unfortunately don't have the money to try everything all at once.