Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so my guard dog died today even tho I won't be buying a German Shepherd immediately it will be within the next year or so. I have always loved German Shepherds. I have had interaction with both kinds of lines that are most common. The working line I see alot because I live next to and go on a military base and that seems to be there breed of choice. Show line I see because I have friends with them. There are three or four other lines I briefly read about but other then that I don't know much about them.
Background:
I have seven huskies I have a sled team and I show Agility, Rally, weight pulling, CaniCross, and Conformation going to try fly ball this year. I also have litter which is why it will be a year or so. I currently have five puppies and I'm keeping two from the litter.
I would work with it. I'm a husky trainer so it would worked with right along with the Huskies. My business is from my house.
I have a little sister who absolutely loves dogs. I know German Shepherds aren't huskies so with that said she knows safety rules with breeds and the correct way to handle things.
I need to know which German Shepherd type would fit my life style best? I would never not want it if it didn't fit but I prefer to have one that does. What's everyone's opinion?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
I would say a biddable female from working lines. I have a dog right now that would be perfect (but she is my dog and we have tracking titles and other stuff we are doing).

Females tend to make good matches as pets in active homes.

That said, most GSDs are not good dogs to have in a pack of dogs. They play differently and act differently. If they are to run with the huskies I suggest you just get another husky.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)