Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I'm a uni student currently living at home and I have been pondering getting a dog for a while now. I've narrowed my search to either a German shepherd or husky as I do a lot of running so a nice athletic dog would be perfect. However, being a student, I am forced to be studying a lot and everything I've read about huskies say that they are very easily bored. Now I can't foresee us getting a second dog any time soon so would getting a husky be a mistake as I probably wouldn't be able to give it the attention that it deserves?

Are German shepherds a little better in that they don't require as much attention? How long can I leave a German shepherd alone before it starts getting bored/anxious? I read that huskies get bored after even 2 hours alone - is this accurate?

Any insight would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
I'd say that neither a German Shepherd nor a Husky is right for your situation right now. Both breeds require an exceptional amount of training, attention and exercise. They are high-drive dogs and need to work for a good portion of the day in order to stay balanced, well-behaved and non-destructive.

A well-stimulated Husky can probably sleep happily for two hours. However, bear in mind I said "well-stimulated" -- that probably means a good workout and lots of training to tire the mind. There are several owners here who run their huskies for up to 10 miles, hike with them, do bikejoring, sledding, etc. Huskies are active dogs -- not the kind of pet that will happily sleep in its crate for hours in the day while waiting for you to give it some attention. The same can be said of the GSD.

How far do you run and how often?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3