Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is a part rant, part advice seeking post. Sorry for the length.

So last time you all read about me I had decided to get a Golden Retriever puppy from my in-laws. They promised to spay their female (and we are going to help finance this) and they seemed to have been raising the puppies very well, not to mention the parents were healthy and seemed friendly enough (we've visited a couple of times and they loved being pet and getting attention, not to mention they are well trained).

So what's the problem? We went to visit them, I decided to go play with the puppies and the new mum. That's when it happened: I was about to pet the mum, when my mother in-law's boyfriend said "don't touch her, because she'll bite you". I looked at the dog, she seemed alright to me, but I suppose owners know best. I've never been bitten by a dog, I am not an expert in dog body language, but I usually know which dogs not to pet. I should add that my mother in-law's boyfriend and me do not get along at all, and we both know it. He said that the mum had been given away by her original owner because she bit a child. She has apparently not bitten anyone at my in-law's, but they say that if she did, she would bite without growling first. This is a problem for me.

I've already bought everything I would need for the puppy, puppy proofed the house, and set aside enough for medical bills. If this was anyone else, I would have looked for a better breeder. I feel like I failed at doing my homework and investigating enough about these dogs. I hate the fact that it's so awkward asking questions to these people because we don't get along and everything sounds as an accusation. Not to mention I don't have the dutch vocabulary to ask these things, so I have to rely on my incredibly shy husband who just hates asking things.