Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2+ year old neutered Olde English Bulldogge. First year-lived in a garage, then 6 mo of living in an apt crated while the owner was gone. He was given to us as the owner stated no time and his only issue was food and possession. Not true. I have been working with this dog for over 6 months and have discovered a list with this boy but it basically boils down to...if he doesnt want to do it...growling starts, body language (no ? that he will follow through) and I have been able to redirect and change his thought process. This boy knows obedience, we have worked with P+ and NILIF -listens a majority of the time however when he doesnt, the only defense I have found helpful is redirection and then repeat the original command and he complies. Something as simple as "inside" can turn into an event.
What has brought this to a boil is I have given this boy baths in the past however this week was a nightmare. He went up the ramp, attached the lead to the bolt in the wall, started rinsing and he went off. Growling, bearing his teeth, spinning and doing his best to escape the tub as well as grab a hold of me. We have not had trouble before. I continued the bath if that is what it was called because I was not going to let him believe he won...but the reality check is that situation was potentially dangerous and I may just be counting my lucky stars. Once the bath was finished, it was like a light switch and he was happy with getting towel dried.
How does one get beyond this boys decision of what he wants or does not want to do at any given moment? Like I said, redirecting works a majority of the time but I am becoming increasingly concerned.
He is not a candidate to be rehomed so I have resigned myself he is here to stay but at the same time I have ?'d that as well.
He has been examined by a vet for Thyroid etc. Needless to say he was not cooperative.