Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my new dog, mix of who knows what, but she's the strongest 50lbs dog I have ever worked with, I've been a trainer and volunteered at the Humane Society for years and have worked with powerful dogs, but this girl...anyway, she literally drug me on my face tonight, may have really damaged my knee and I was even braced for it, and I am not a small woman.

I'm looking for something sturdy and preferably adjustable in more than one direction . I will not put a prong on her but I need to control her until I can get her trained. Thank yo

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
While I WOULD put a prong collar on this dog (I put on e on every dog I have during training whether I use it or not), I would not use it for pulling. I also would not use a front attach harness.

I would put a fursaver on this dog but not on the Live (choking) ring. I would dead ring it (and you can adjust the length so the dog cannot slip it by doubling up links etc.). Then I would have a very hungry dog and do the "crazy' walk. As the dog rushes ahead or to the side, I would reverse direction BEFORE she hits the end of the leash. When she refocuses on you mark it and reward it with food.

You won't walk very far. It is likely you may not go 25 feet and may stay in a 25'x25' area (or smaller) at first.. and maybe for quite awhile. Eventually the dog will decide to pay attention to you....

·
Registered
549 Posts
I got Chai harness from Amazon for mine. I really like it. It does minimize the pulling but mostly she's not choking herself. My female is very leash reactive though so I really needed something to help me handle her (it comes with a handle on the back too). It does involve putting it over the dog's head though, we had to get her used to that with treats, but it doesn't block her shoulders movement, which was important to me.