Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm new to dogforums.com and also to dog ownership! I'm a cat person. I grew up with cats, I got a cat in college and I've since gotten a second cat. I love cats. I love everything about them. BUT, I thought that was probably just because I grew up with them and never had a chance to become a dog person. I really like the idea of a dog. I like the idea of a walking companion, of a fetch companion, of a friend I can teach tricks to, etc. So, a year or so ago, I started researching dog breeds and general information on dogs. I decided on the Papillon. They're small, highly intelligent, have one instead of two coats so they're not supposed to shed a lot, are cute, and I was told they weren't yappers (the vet just told me otherwise...).

I decided I didn't want a small puppy, so I found a breeder with a 9 month old pup she'd held back to show but decided not to.

I got her Tuesday at noon.

She's just as adorable as in the pictures. And smaller than I thought.

It's now Thursday. Tuesday went well. I kept her in the bathroom (with a baby gate up) and hung out with her for a few hours in there. Then I left her for a bit (half an hour or so), she was fine, then I took her for a walk around my neighborhood. I had a class at night, went to it, came back, and she was fine. Went to sleep, she was fine.