Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about fostering for a local rescue. I have a 16 month old boxer mix now who loves other dogs but has never lived with one. I think fostering would be a good way to continue to socialize my dog. I'm a full time law student so my dog is often home alone for 2-4 hours at a time and I think having a second dog in the house would be nice for her as she wont be alone. Is fostering a bad idea? Will my dog get "attached" to the other dog and become destructive once the foster is adopted? What repercussions, if any, will I need to be aware of before agreeing to foster a dog?

If any of you have any experience with this and can give me general insights and experiences, I'd really appreciate it!

·
Registered
11,239 Posts
I fostered bully breeds for a few years and then adopted my "foster fail" Eva.

I would not ever leave a foster of any breed or size alone with my dog when I was completely out of the house...as in, going to the yard or garage etc is fine if the dogs are fine together but i wouldn't assume the risk of going off to class or work with them together. So if you are looking for a companion for your dog while you are not home, I would not suggest a foster.

A foster can be a fun playmate though and a good companion for walks and such. Some resident dogs will become more attached to fosters than other resident dogs might but if the foster isn't there for a very long time, then I would expect minimal acting out. My male dog Chester chewed up my shoelaces when a long term foster got adopted (2x) but otherwise wasn't upset or disturbed.

Get all the details of a foster agreement in writing. Liability and such, requests for home visits (visiting the potential adopters home) etc