Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to the board members/readers!

I am new to the forum as I am also new to being a dog owner. We recently got a rotty/lab/shepherd mix from a rescue shelter. He is a lot of work as everyone knows puppys are but I did a lot of research before getting him and I continue to read and research every day. I want to be a responsible owner for my sake and his. In just the week and a half that we have had him I have him sitting on command, laying down following "sit" with some coersion of a treat being lowered to the ground, and we are making serious headway in the create training.housebreaking so I think so far things are going well. He cries when we put him back in the create but so far he stops after a few minutes if we close the door and leave the area - if he hears us then it continues longer obviously.

I do have a few questions if you folks would be so gracious to answer for me I would be forever greatful. I will start with just 1 here for now as to not create a lengthy post.

Is there any advice I can follow when boarding him/leaving him with friends or family during vacations as to reduce his anxiety and ensure he doesnt resent us when we get back? I plan to leave him with some of our clothes for the scent but is there anything else I can do?

Thank you for your time reading this and I look forward to reading and interacting with you in the months/years to come with my dog Nittany!!

·
Registered
4,423 Posts