Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I recently adopted a 7 week old black labrador, and will be living with her in a spacious condo with a balcony. There really is no other option in terms of housing, as I am a student and this condo is less expensive than a standalone house and very convenient for me to get to my classes.

I have a few questions that I would greatly appreciate answered before my puppy comes home (the breeder wants the puppies to further socialize until they are around 8 weeks old before they are sent home). thank you!

1, should I get something like the Porch potty to place on the balcony for when she needs to go immediately and i can't wait for the elevator to go all the way downstairs?

2, in terms of adapting to the household and easing the stress on her, what are your experiences with dog appeasing hormones? as well, i really do not want to use DAP at all if there's any chance that it may harm my puppy and cause developmental issues, so is it completely safe and okay to use?

thanks for reading!

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
Give letters to all of your neighbors telling them you just got a puppy and want to apologize in advance for any whining/noise she makes at first. Tell them you understand that living in close quarters makes noise an issue and that you'll be doing everything possible to minimize it. Thank them for their understanding.

Make sure before you get puppy that there are no size limits for pets. Allow for puppy maturing to adulthood to figure out size/weight allowed. Don't get it if you might even be close.

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
1. We live on the 4th floor and were succesfully able to potty train our puppy without a porch potty or pad. One advantage we had was that we have a medium sized breed and were able to pick him and carry him down the stairs if we thought he needed to go right away, this eliminated any hallway accidents.