1lb ground turkey
2lb lean ground beef
1.25lb chicken livers
1 pack frozen peas & carrots
1 pack frozen green beans
4 eggs
2 regular baking potatoes
2 sweet potatoes (yams)

He was getting 1 cup of TOW high prairie a day and now he is getting 1/2 cup TOW and 1/2 cup homemade mixture.

What do you think of the mix? Do I need to add anything?

It was all cooked/mashed/pureed to a consistency like cooked ground meat. I used my vaccum sealer to split it into three days worth of food and then freeze it.

·
Registered
643 Posts
I think that looks like a great start. I've been feeding my pups homemade food since April, and I couldn't be happier. I'm still learning and reading up on different recipes/supplements and things like that. So far, the only supplements I'm using are calcium and fish oil. Good for you for doing this for your dog. I'm sure he appreciates the extra effort. I know mine do.

·
Registered
6,103 Posts
Where's the calcium? And you have lots of lean meats. Dogs need fat, most kibbles are around 12-15% I think (I feed raw so haven't looked at kibble labels for a while).

·
Registered
6,227 Posts
Looks yummy. An awful lot of liver though. Raw feeders stick to 5% liver, seems to me cooked food should have a similar amount. 5% of 3 pounds of meat is less than 3 ounces.

How lean is the ground beef? Even 85% isn't really very lean. It is 15% fat - comes to 4 grams of fat and 5 grams of protein per ounce. Guess that means it is 18% protein? I don't think your dog is going to be fat starved.

Being as how I don't feel like doing anything today I made up a recipe on nutritiondata. Join up, it is a big help.